top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichaela

Fall Porch Recipe

As a self proclaimed home baker, recipes are my life. There are a couple items I can do without reading a recipe, but especially with mom brain, recipes save me.


I decided to create a "Porch Decor Recipe" to maybe help you with your porch decorating if you don't know where to start. I write that like I'm an expert 🥴️



First and foremost you can't do a fall porch without your entry mat for that classic 'instagram pose where you're looking down at your cute shoes, starbucks coffee, and witty seasonal mat.


Along with your mat being a good central focus, it is also just overall practical to have walking into your home, to kick off those fall leaves.


After the floor mat you want something to actually hang on your door. That can be a wreath, a fall sign, a warm bow, anything!


Step one, your base, is done!





Next you want to add your floral garland around your doorframe. I do this in three steps.


I got two of these garlands from Michael's for the two sides of my door and this garland also from Michael's to blend the two together at the seam at the top.


Every time I purchase a garland I try to make sure the vine base has wire within it. That makes it so much easier to work with when you can bend it and shape it exactly how you want it.


After they are hung I will fluff them, and then add additional fall picks to fill in some of the empty spots.






After your floral garland I choose to go with my Mums. (This is my first time ever having mums... did you know that Walmart sells mums that actually smell like pumpkin spice 😳 my mind was BLOWN today.)


Mums are one of my favorite flowers, I just love their rounded tops and full looking blooms. I wish Texas could have mums all year round.


I got two of the large pumpkin spice mums to frame either side, and then one of each of some smaller ones to fill in the spaces.


Now I just have to try to keep them alive 😅


I pulled a side table up to create some layers. Ideally I would use hay bails, but I'm growing a baby and need to save money somewhere.


Last but certainly not least, you're adding your pumpkins, because, what's fall without pumpkins? Just go to your grocery store, pumpkin patch, or garden pick a good variety of pumpkins and stack them to your heart's desire.


I'm so grateful this season to have a home that I FINALLY get to decorate, and style, and change to make my own. Years of patience, saving, and more patience, we are coming up on a year of owning our home. It makes me teary eyed thinking about it. The memories we have already made in this home, and the memories we're about to make with our daughter is so surreal. The most amazing part of it all is, the fact that the best is yet to come.


I hope you enjoyed this fall porch recipe, I would love to hear how you decorate your porch for the holidays!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page