top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichaela

Made with Tradition

Updated: Oct 31, 2019

Deocrated eggs are the most iconic symbols of the Easter holiday regardless if you celebrate Easter for religious reasons or not.


I always loved boiling eggs with my mom and dropping them in the different dyes to see how they would turn out. But this year I thought I would up the anti and try a Czech tradition of using melted wax. HELLO FIRST FAIL!


The way this was supposed to work was by using:


Tea lights, crayon wax, eggs, aluminum can, pencils with a small nail or flathead pin.



Step 1- Blow out the egg.


Poke a hole in the top and bottom of your egg, Use a stick of some sort (like a toothpick) to mix up the inside to break the yoke. Then simply blow the insides out.

Step 2 - Get your crayon colors

You only need a little bit of wax, about as much as the wrapper is pulled.

Step 3 - Cut an aluminum can to put a tea light underneath to melt the wax.


This is when it went bad. The wax is melted, the egg is in hand, I'm ready to rumble, and each time I tried to apply the wax to the egg, the wax would dry before I could even get to the egg.

So, I improvised and got out some paint instead and just decorated the eggs that way.







Edit: I learned, that I didn't get the nail/pin hot enough so that the wax wouldn't cool right away. Silly me.


There's always next year!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page